Principle 2: Model Humility

What do you worship?

We are beings made to worship.  You can’t help it.  It’s in your nature.  You wake up, you drive attention toward something. Whatever that thing is, whatever grabs your thoughts, whatever takes your mind share, you end up worshipping – whether you like it or not.  You become like what you Worship.

Pride easily steps into my worship often.  I used to spend hours in front of the mirror, working in the weight room, dressing properly for all occasions.

My eyes were opened as I have left the job I was at for 7+years back in December, then moved to a new spot, that didn’t pan out.  I have been in this seemingly never ending move of God stripping me of the enormous amounts of pride and confidence I had in ME, my work ethic, my ability, my knowledge, my ____  ; to a renewed trust in HIM in this season.  And HE has abundantly provided.  More than I need.

As life lead me from less to more and more to less.  I used to believe that more was best and less was ok.  But in the last year, I began to realize that less may be the best, and more is good.  But it’s hard to give up what’s good for what’s best sometimes.  I think pride stands in the way.

Pride is a bear.

Submission sucks.  Submission is hard for everyone.  Not a person out there who says, “I like people to boss me around.”  No, submission is the willingness to listen and obey.  Pride is like a backpack with 50+ pounds that you carry around, it’s the guerilla in the room with many people, many “leaders” these days have a pride bear on their back.   Submission is the only way to lead.

To that leader who doesn’t want to submit, just want to say one thing today.  You don’t have to submit.  You may not bend your knee today, but you will one day, and I pray it’s not your last day with happiness and joy.

Humility of Christ.  Find some way to work to model the humility of Christ.  Philippians 2 has a section there at the beginning, vs. 1-13 that just talk about how He came as a servant, in the form of man and became obedient to death, FOR YOU.  Something about the blessing of loving other people there.

I’ve found that my joy is multiplied in seeing the obedience of those around me.  Christ lived out in their lives.  And less in the battle of my own life.  Yes, I’m called to model Christ, Yes, there’s GREAT daily joy found in that.  But as Christ begins to work in those around you- You are blessed with a multiple factor I could not explain.

Discipleship.

Multiply your joy by finding joy in others.

Number one is awesome, but it’s a lonely spot.  King of the Hill is a great place, but definitely not paramount.  Leadership is great, but, leadership is not all about being the leader of others.  Leadership is work, leading yourself well, and loving others along the way.  80% of people think they are a leader, which is a hilarious statistic, since probably 20% are actually qualified to consider themselves leaders and maybe 5% of those are really great leaders.  I believe the key to leadership is loving those around you.  It’s about Discipleship.  Loving others.  Modeling humility.  Living it out, not just saying it.  Actions, not words.

John 13.34-35 says “A new command I give to you, Love one another.  As I have loved you, so you must love one another.  By this all men will know you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

Run hard with those around you.  Pour into the people in your path.  Make them better.  Allow them to make you better.  There’s a humility in being beside your friends.  In the trenches.  Loving in the meantime.

Learn to serve, refuse to be worshiped and love those around you.  Learn to model humility.

Check out the end of the article below about Pride from gotQuestions.org:

Why is pride such a problem? Proverbs 16:18 declares, “Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.” Pride causes people to forget God (Hosea 13:6). Pride causes some celebrities to forget that God was the one who gave them the talents and skills they possess. Pride causes celebrities to have too high a view of themselves, to think they are worthy of all the adulation they receive. Arrogant pride results in celebrities thinking they cannot be deceived and therefore putting trust in very untrustworthy people. Too high a view of self leads to some celebrities believing they are beyond the possibility of failure and thereby making extremely foolish decisions with their lives, careers, relationships, marriages, finances, etc.

Ultimately, the issue is this – human beings are not spiritually, emotionally, or psychologically designed to receive worship. Only God is worthy of worship, and only God can receive worship without it perverting His “psyche.” When celebrities worship themselves or allow others to worship them, it results in arrogant pride and self-centeredness, which leads to disaster and tragedy.

What is the cure? The cure is to give God the glory He alone deserves. The fix is to have a biblical self-image, recognizing that we are valuable because we are created in God’s image and likeness (Genesis 1:26-27), not because of anything we have accomplished “on our own.” The solution is to refuse to be worshipped, as the holy angels do (Revelation 19:1022:9), and instead to deflect any and all worship and adulation to God, who alone is worthy. The key is recognizing that we are whoRomans 3:10-23 says we are and praising God for being the merciful, gracious, and loving God that He is.

Leave a Reply

