Climbing Mt. Rainier – Out of our Mind

Mount Ranier Panorama

If we are out of our mind, it is for the sake of God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you. For Christ’s love compels us  – 2 Corinthians 5:13-14a

Mt. Rainier

Bought my flight, met today for breakfast, if the Lord wills it I’m going to climb Mt. Rainier come August.  This is a once in a lifetime deal, I couldn’t be more stoked or completely unsure what the HECK I’m doing.

It’s a three-day hike.  We’re staying in tents, hiking to 10k feet, prepping, than waking up at Midnight, to summit the peak and get all the way back down.  This trip requires us to huck a 40 pound pack, to do rope work, to perform rescue and NOT DIE.

(My outdoor supplies began to dwindle when I worked on my MBA and my outdoor gear went away somehow.  I’m restocking all categories.  Wide open to advice and disciplines on the matter if you have some.  Leave a comment or email me, I’d love to hear.)

 

Defining Crazy.

Sharing your story, telling your secrets, opening your heart in front of people is crazy.  Hiking mountains is cake.

There is no human logic that says, “Hey, I should go share my story with hundreds if not thousands of people.”   There is something legitimately crazy about that.  No one does that.  I mean we brag, we tell the stories about our times of success and brilliance.   To really share your story, to open your heart up and to share your mistakes: the pain, the grind of your life.  Not logical.  No one does that.

IF Christ’s love compels you.  I believe you don’t have to share your story with everyone, but you must share it with someone.  There is some element to belief and faith that is opening up for the sake of God.  Not that you add anything to God, or that you could take away from Him, but more like a “When you know Him, you do this.”  Discipling others and leading them to healing and Christ, by saying this is no longer shameful.  My struggles, my sin does not contain me, Christ indeed has cleansed me from the guilt of my sin.

The consequence of pain may still abound, but joy in Christ is greater when found.

Leave a Reply

