Principle 11: Think the Best.

List of sail emblems

Optimist Symbol for Dinghys - Image via Wikipedia

Be an Optimist. 

Ever said to yourself- “I’m not a pessimist, I’m a REALIST.”?  I have. Permission to speak plainly?  YOU ARE A PESSIMIST. If I were you, I’d respond, “Naw, you’re negatively interpreting.”  You’re a pessimist, this post will explain why.

Here’s a look into, my Know Thyself work:

Maybe TMI, I’m an E/I-S-T-J/P.  My Myers-Briggs shows me about 50/50 Judger and Perceiver.  I’d have to say I’m easily 51% Judger.  (The J stems from a horrible habit from childhood, that I would look at the person next to me and determine my worth.)

Point is- I would look at something- immediately place my limited judgment on this thing.   Whatever the something was, would be locked in that spot with little availability for movement.  Learn to ask questions before placing judgment.  Three questions is a good goal.  This has freed me up so much to look with fresh eyes at situations and prevented some “crazy dumb” decisions.

Positive Thought

The Power of Positive Thinking"" by Norman Vincent Peale had great impact on this journey, not that I advocate the theology.  Norman focuses on positive self talk, waking up and reminding yourself of verses like:

Philippians 4:13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Romans 8:31 What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

These are great verses for me.  I tend, as I mentioned above to see a God of Judgment, and miss the God of Grace, Ephesians 2:8-10  Great take-a-way verses though.  Post them on your computer.  Write them on your bathroom mirror.

“Yes, AND. . . “

Three improvisers performing long form improv ...

Image via Wikipedia

Ideas blow up because we’re so negative.  Improv comedians have a strategy.  People enjoy watching comedians so much is because they say “yes and…” Say “yes, and…”  You will have brilliant brainstorming sessions, you can concoct hilarious stories and write belly laughing manuscripts.

Set a policy of Yes, and.  Drop the NO, unless it’s immoral, unethical or just plain DUMB.  Use power to educate.  Ask Questions.

Take one step today.

I would be remiss if I didn’t give you the most optimistic perspective of all.  Seek to follow the model of Christ.  Philippians 2 gives a great model of His humility, servant-leadership and purpose.  Follow Him-  It will give you the greatest purpose of all.  Seek Him, God will reveal Himself to you, as He promises and you will understand.

Follow ONLY Him Who is Worthy To Be Followed.

Leave a Reply

